minima maxima sunt

The Small things are the Great things; as in a grain of mustard seed.

Ite Missa Est

20120617-162130.jpg For the last few weeks I have been in the process of relocating from Tampa, Fl. to Charlotte N.C. A new job and new part of the country to begin exploring, it also means time to find a new place of worship.

My first stop was at the church closest to where I’m living; St. Thomas Aquinas CC. A brick structure with post and beam ceilings, shaped like a cross, with several beautiful contemporary stained glass windows in the gables. (Sorry, stained windows are difficult to get a good shot of with a phone cam.)

The priest wore a habit under his garments, telling me he was an “order priest”. This means that he is a member of a religious order as opposed to a diocesan priest who is not. My guess for now is that he is probably a Capuchin Franciscan friar, an order which was mentioned in the parish history.

Being alone for about a week as my wife and children finish things in Florida, I found myself thinking about things like distance, separation and of course reunion; especially reunion. I can’t wait for them to get here! Strange that such concepts are at the heart of the Christian faith. But there’s a paradox here too. For distance and separation are things overcome by a deeper reality that we have through communion. As the readings were spoken I mused upon the fact that these same scriptures were being read in every catholic community today. The Eucharist was the same spiritual food partaken across the world and through the ages, the most Blessed Sacrament. And in a similar way my wife and daughters were also present through the ties that bind us in that ancient institution, created by God; the family.

Ite Missa Est; the mass is ended. I walked out, shook the priests hand and walked through several gardens to my car. The kingdom of God among…..us.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Ite Missa Est

  1. marieagrace on said:

    Wow! That’s built so like the Methodist church we have here it looks just like an Arc to me like I was in an Arc and safe 🙂 The wood is almost orange like it would be of Osage orange wood,nice stuff and it looks nice.When I mentioned how it looked to me, the Pastor said; Hum,I never thought of that but it does look like an Arc.
    It won’t be that long and your family will be there with you and you will all be together:) that will be nice to, for a family is an Arc it is and should be a place of safety and comforting words just like the church is:) Stay cool Mike You are loved! Blessings and Peace!!!

  2. Kelly on said:

    I accidentally clicked a button on your FB page that led me here to your writing, Mike! I hope to read more and see of you decide to keep going to this church. Great reading from an old friend!

Leave a Reply

